Nordkinn!!!

Yesterday (30th of september), after 121 days and nearly 2700km hiking and packrafting from Lindesnes, I reached the Nordkinn on a splendid autumn afternoon. It has been the hardest trip of my life, but also by far the most spectacular, rewarding and captivating one. It has been an honour to spend such a long time wandering through Europe’s wildest and most remote corners.

One has mixed feelings at the end of such an immense adventure. I am glad things went smooth and feel rather proud about my accomplishment, and must admit I am now looking forward to a shower and some other food than a daily ration of muesli, chocolate, cookies and pasta. But soon enough it will dawn on me that a most extraordinary episode of my life is over, an episode at which I will often look back with a good dose of nostalgia. But hey, let’s enjoy the moment first! I think I deserved a beer now πŸ™‚

There are many people I have to thank and I won’t even try listing them here, but my co-walkers Joris and Fre, my parents and Elien deserve a special mention. And I thank you for your interest in my trip! It could be silent here now for a while, but tune in again later in autumn when I will start publishing a trip report and gear reviews!

11 thoughts on “Nordkinn!!!

  1. Wouter says:

    Een ongelooflijk dikke proficiat!
    Ik moet zeggen dat ik bijzonder onder de indruk ben, en ik moet toegeven dat ik met de nodige jaloezie en stijgende bewondering uw “live tracking” heb gevolgd. Ik vind het haast spijtig dat er geen land meer is ten noorden van uw laatste blauwe belleke, maar ik gun u uw bier van harte! Er zal zelden een beer geconsumeerd zijn/worden dat meer verdiend is dan deze.

  2. David Hine (@GridNorth) says:

    Well done! Trip of a lifetime.

    Looking forward to reading about this. Don’t scrimp on the details. Particularly the packrafting sections πŸ™‚

    You definitely deserve a beer. The good stuff…the Mack!
    Dave

  3. debbekes says:

    Fantastisch dat je de kroon op het werk hebt gezet. Ik kijk uit naar een voorstelling van je ervaringen. Dat gaat subliem worden! πŸ˜‰

  4. Willem says:

    Thanks for your comments! As I told many people on the trail… even though there may be some less nice moments, it is not so difficult to do what you really like for a very long time πŸ™‚

    Dave, I’ve got a lot of video from the water… but there is two months to write about before my raft even arrives in Norway!

Leave a Reply

